Best of British Science Fiction 2019 - ToC Reveal!

How is your 2020 going so far? I must admit, I have been working on Best of British SF for four years now, and in genre fiction for most of the millennium, and yet I did not predict that we would be living through the plague years right now. Perhaps I should go back and edit this blog to make out that I did?

Anyway, one thing that has kept me going during my confinement indoors is working on this wonderful (even if I do say so myself) anthology. I really enjoyed picking out the stories for this, and I'm delighted to be able to say that not only are there some well-known names here, there are some great new voices here too.

Now that all my work on this is done, I'm feeling a little lost, I must admit. And as this is a time of great pestilence it seems we can't have a book launch, which is decidedly unfair. In 2018, I missed a signing at Forbidden Planet after breaking my ankle, and last year I was in hospital recovering from surgery after having a massive tumour removed when BOBSF 2018 was launched at Worldcon in Dublin.

So, for the release date of BOBSF 2019, I'm going to suggest that we all treat ourselves to an excellent wine (or nonalcoholic treat of your choice) such as we might have enjoyed at a NewCon Press book launch (Ian does pick lovely wines). Perhaps we can all do this together when the book is officially launched on July 14th? Let us meet at 7pm on Twitter, and I will tweet from @wishusdonna #BOBSF2019

Let's share tasting notes, and something we love about short science fiction that day. (Oh, and cheese, we must have cheese!)

The book is available to preorder here. And below is a list of what you will find inside, plus the fantastic cover art by Les Edwards.

2019: An Introduction – Donna Scott
The Anxiety Gene – Rhiannon Grist
The Land of Grunts and Squeaks – Chris Beckett
For Your Own Good – Ian Whates
Neom – Lavie Tidhar
Once You Start – Mike Morgan
For the Wicked, Only Weeds Will Grow – G. V. Anderson
Fat Man in the Bardo – Ken MacLeod
Cyberstar – Val Nolan
The Little People – Una McCormack
The Loimaa Protocol – Robert Bagnall
The Adaptation Point – Kate Macdonald
The Final Ascent – Ian Creasey
A Lady of Ganymede, a Sparrow of Io – Dafydd McKimm
Snapshots – Leo X. Robertson
Witch of the Weave – Henry Szabranski
Parasite Art – David Tallerman
Galena – Liam Hogan
Ab Initio – Susan Boulton
Ghosts – Emma Levin
Concerning the Deprivation of Sleep – Tim Major
Every Little Star – Fiona Moore
The Minus-Four Sequence – Andrew Wallace


Popular Posts